No More!

Kelley Rourke, words
John Glover, music

A butterfly beats her wings
A storm gathers on a far-off shore
A mild-mannered man in a white lab coat
Manipulates a spore

They say we’ve never been so productive
They say weapons can deter a war
They say prosperity trickles down
But a lone voice cries, no more.

And the voice becomes a chorus
And the song becomes a roar
No more. No more. No more.

When money’s a form of speech
It’s easy to silence the poor
It’s easy to let it all slip past
Till a lone voice cries, no more

And the voice becomes a chorus
And the song becomes a roar
No more. No more. No more.

You are no longer Mary from the suburbs. 
You are Freya from the edge.

Will you call me Mary, at least, when we are home in bed?

Only Freya. And you have to call me Marco. Never Bobby.
If you want to change your life, first you change your name.

A nom de guerre? Isn’t that sort of ridiculous?

All cultures have naming ceremonies. 
It’s how you become an adult.
You choose, you decide who you are.

But I didn’t choose that name. You did.

Acres of orchards are barren
Bodies are covered with sores
And nobody can remember
A time we weren’t at war

The canisters ride four across
I can see through the hatch in the bottom of the plane
the spray of white aerosol trailing behind.
We are buzzing rice paddies and villages.
We are aiming for total saturation.

No more….

Support the cause!

Donate to eat the document

Join the cause!


All tracks recorded at Merkin Concert Hall (Kaufman Music Center) on May 12, 2021 by the following artists. Photo of “G.I.’s Against the War” by Bev Grant.

Justine Aronson as Mary/Caroline
Amy Justman as Louise
Paul Pinto as Nash
Tim Russell as Bobby/Jason
Jonathan Woody as Henry

Mila Henry, music director and piano
Abi Fayette, violin I
Rachel Shapiro, violin II
Jessica Meyer, viola
Andrew Yee, cello
Shayna Dunkelman, drums
Liz Faure, guitar

Mike Gurfield, producer
Merkin Concert Hall at Kaufman Music Center:
Ken Feldman, engineer

Thank you to the following funding organizations and individual donors for their generous support of Eat the Document:

The Amphion Foundation
James and Nancy Barton
The Aaron Copland Fund for Music
The Howard Gilman Foundation
Charles Jarden
Norman Ryan

Eat the Document is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.

copyright AOP@2021